Sunday soup part two

18Jul10

As planned, soup number two this afternoon was spicy red pepper. I think this one is going to take some adjusting to get it just right, but it was a decent first attempt.

Spicy red pepper soup

Definitely a more attractive colour than the broccoli

Spicy red pepper soup

1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 red onion, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
3 red capsicums, roasted, peeled and chopped
1/2 medium sized sweet potato, peeled and diced
2 carrots, peeled and chopped
1 stalk celery
can of chopped tomatoes
2 cups vegetable stock
1/2 teaspoon thyme
salt and pepper to taste
big pinch of chilli flakes
nutritional yeast to serve

Saute the onion and garlic in olive oil, in a large saucepan until translucent. Add carrots, sweet potato and celery and allow to soften. Meanwhile, cut capsicums in half and put under the grill until the skins are black. This took a good 15-20 minutes. Once the capsicums are done and are cool enough to handle, peel the skin off, chop and add to the pan. Add the chopped tomatoes, veg stock, thyme, chilli flakes, salt and pepper and bring to the boil. Simmer until potatoes are soft. Transfer to blender and puree in batches. Serve with nutritional yeast.

This soup was quite salty. I may have added to much extra without taking into account the salt added to the chopped tomatoes. I don’t think I’d add extra salt if using canned chopped tomatoes again. In fact, I think it would probably be better to use extra stock and a few fresh tomatoes instead. I also think it’d be really great with some fresh herbs. Basil maybe? I wish I could be trusted to water plants. I’ve managed to kill every herb I’ve ever tried to grow. Even mint, which apparently is notoriously hard to kill. What can I say? I have a talent.

I unpacked our stash from the Food and Wine Show earlier. Thanks to the wonders of modern technology, I can even enjoy it away from home. Fancy a cheeky tipple at work? No worries! Ladies and gentlemen, presenting…

The wine rack Source

Ridiculous and yet ingenious. I’m not sure I’d be marketing it as the ‘perfect gift for your girlfriend’, unless she has a great sense of humour or you’re looking for a slap, but I’m sure in certain situations it’s very useful, more for the drink portability aspect rather than its rack-enhancing properties.

I also stumbled across this. Chocolate. In pill form. Why do we need chocolate in pill form? What’s wrong with chocolate in chocolate form?! I’m thrilled about the health benefits of eating more chocolate and I’ll happily adjust my intake accordingly, but I’d never choose munching on a good piece of solid chocolate to swallowing a pill. I wonder how many people will jump on this bandwagon?

No Responses Yet to “Sunday soup part two”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

