Golden ticket freedom at the Good Food and Wine Show

18Jul10

After 18 long, dry days, I cashed in my Dry July golden ticket yesterday and hit the Good Food and Wine Show. Aerial shot:

Good Food and Wine Show

Gourmet goodness

It was awesome 🙂 There seemed to be much more food this year than I remember last year. We picked up some yummy salad dressing and a dukkah/dressing/oil combo that is going to go really well with the bread I will eventually get round to making.

We spent a fair amount of time in Barossa and there were a couple of other regions we visited. I think the majority of wine we brought back was shiraz. There were so many different types. It was crazy to see just how much variation there was between different types of wine made from the same grapes. I’m back on the Dry July wagon now but very much looking forward to August and cracking open some fancy wine.

Today I want to try to get some cooking done. Last week it was great not having to think about what to cook for dinner and even better not having to actually cook it and clean up the mess. I’m really feeling soups at the moment but I don’t want to overdo the pumpkin soup, so this morning I whipped up this simple broccoli soup.

Roasted broccoli soup

Soup number one of this week

Roasted broccoli soup

2 large heads of broccoli
4 cups of vegetable stock
3-4 tsp olive oil
2 cloves of garlic
1 1/2 tsp lemon juice
3/4 tsp thyme
salt and pepper to taste
chilli flakes and nutritional yeast to serve

Preheat oven to 200C. Chop up the broccoli and garlic, put in baking trays (I had 2 full trays) and drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast for about 20 minutes. Once broccoli is roasted transfer to large saucepan, add stock, thyme, and lemon juice and bring to boil. Once stock has come to boil, turn off the heat and puree the contents of the saucepan in a blender (I did it in two batches). Serve with a big pinch of chilli flakes and nutritional yeast.

The soup has a really nice savoury flavour to it. My only criticism is it’s a little bit watery – I used about 5 cups of stock in mine.

This afternoon I want to try a roasted red pepper soup. I’m also going to make lentil chilli for lunch next week.

No Responses Yet to “Golden ticket freedom at the Good Food and Wine Show”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

