Slight return?

17Jun10

It’s been a while. Almost six months to the day in fact. What can I say? Me and the blog decided to take a break – things were moving too fast.

Two friends have recently set up blogs, which made me feel a little guilty that I had abandoned mine after such a short time. Speaking of which:

http://foodblogofafilmsnob.blogspot.com/

http://www.piggingoutnow.blogspot.com/

I really fancy trying the gnocchi Jo’s blog but I’m skeptical about how a vegan version will turn out. I made my first gnocchi the other day with pumpkin and it was questionable to say the least. Soggy and sticky. Dan seemed to like it, though, and the sauce with it was great. I’ll give it another go soon. I might even blog about it.

Recently I’ve been experimenting with burger recipes in the hope that I’ll come up with something I like more that Hive falafel wraps. It’s a big task, but I think I’m making progress. These bean burgers are adapted from here. I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made them, but there was something weird about cinnamon burgers.

Vegan Chilli and Basil Bean Burger

That's avocado and nutritional yeast on top. What isn't pictured it the mound of HP sauce that was eaten with those chips.

Vegan Chilli and Basil Bean Burgers (Makes 6–8)

2 cans beans (I used one or mixed beans and one or borlotti beans)
2 carrots, grated
1/2 cup dry rolled oats
1/4 cup pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp chilli powder
chilli flakes to your taste
6–8 basil leaves
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 180C. Add the oats and the pepitas to a food processor and coarsely chop them. The mixture should still be a little chunky. Grate the carrots and add them to the mixture in the food processor, or, if your food processor has a grating attachment, attach and grate. Add 3/4 of the beans, all spices, and olive oil, then mix it all together in the food processor

Spoon the mixture into a bowl and fold in the basil and the rest of the beans. Form into patties with your hands and place on a non-stick baking tray. I’m tempted to say aim for eight patties instead of six – the smaller ones seem to hold together better. Bake at 180C for 40 minutes, turning once halfway through the cooking time. I reckon you could probable fry these as well, although I haven’t tried to myself.

Serve with sweet potato chips and salad. I don’t eat a lot of bread so I just serve on top of a pile of spinach.

Sweet Potato Chips

Decent sized sweet potato (depending on how many chips you want)
2 tsp olive oil
Salt and pepper

Slice sweet potato into chips. I leave the skin on for extra rustic-ness. Drizzle with olive oil and add a bit of salt and pepper. Don’t let the chips touch each other on the baking tray! Apparently this helps to keep them crispy. Put them in about 10 minutes after the burgers and turn them halfway through cooking.

No Responses Yet to “Slight return?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

